• 152 Carlton Street Unit 201,Toronto, ON, M4Y2J9
  • 647-479-9611, 1-844-900-CCMF (2263)
  • info@equalitycanada.com
Donate Today

The following constitutes the Canadian Association for Equality leadership team
Board of Directors

The following individuals constitute CAFE’s Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Term expires 2019 AGM:
Robert Samery (Chair)
Edward Sullivan (Vice Chair)
Jill Hendry
John Robson
Dwayne Walker

Term expires 2020 AGM:
Mark Austerberry
James Brown
Monique Dietvorst
Don Dutton
Paul Sandor
Geoff Stone

President: James Brown
National Executive Director: Justin Trottier
Toronto Client and Program Manager: Dwayne Walker
Ottawa Executive Director:

CAFE Ottawa Regional Governance Board
John Robson and Meg Reket, Co-Chairs
Jeff Flaro, Vice Chair
John Kingsley, Treasurer
Eric Verwijs, Secretary
Jay Kassirer
Olivia Giuliani
Naseeb Kaur
Jean-Jaques Desgranges
Keith Savage

Click here to learn about our Advisory Fellows

CAFE’s national headquarters is in Toronto. CAFE is also active through branches in the following locations:

CAFE Ottawa:
Leader: David Shackleton
Contact dshackleton@equalitycanada.com
Phone: 613-518-1065

Canadian Centre for Men and Families – Ottawa
Address – 292 Montreal Rd., Suite 302 Ottawa On K1L 6B7
Website: www.menandfamilies.org/Ottawa
E-mail: ottawa@menandfamilies.org
Phone: 613-518-1065 (office) or toll-free: 833-CCMFOTT (833-226-3688)
Fax –  613-699-9215

CCMF Ottawa Executive Director: David Shackleton

CAFE Vancouver:
Leader: Rob Kruyt
Contact vancouver@equalitycanada.com

CAFE Montreal:
Leaders: Martin Gareau
Contact montreal@equalitycanada.com

CAFE Edmonton:
Leader: Khalil Merali
Contact edmonton@equalitycanada.com

CAFE Calgary:
Leader: Dan McKinnon
Contact calgary@equalitycanada.com

Canadian Centre for Men and Families – Calgary
Website: www.menandfamilies.org/calgary
Contact: calgary@menandfamilies.org
Address: 2804 16th Street SW, Calgary, AB, T2T 4G4 (by appointment only).

CAFE Halifax:
Leader: Mal Maguire
Contact halifax@equalitycanada.com

CAFE Victoria:
Martin Nugter
Contact victoria@equalitycanada.com

CAFE Ontario West (London):
Leader: Darren Vernon
Contact: london@equalitycanada.com
Phone: 226-236-5185

CAFE Winnipeg:
Leader: Kurt Berger
Contact: winnipeg@equalitycanada.com

CAFE Ontario SW (Waterloo, Kitchener, Guelph, Hamilton):
Leader: Nicole Walker
Contact: ontariosw@equalitycanada.com

CAFE Toronto
Leaders: Steve Murgaski and Hayden Lunardo
Contact: toronto@equalitycanada.com

Canadian Association for Equality Committees

Marketing, Communications and Outreach Committee
Co-Chair: Phil Johnston
Associates: James Russell, Adam McPhee, Jasmela Murati

Outreach Officer: Denise Fong

Multimedia Committee
Chair: Geoff Stone
Associates: Nick Kovats, Max Von Holtzendorff, Sammy Alouba, Adam Zivo, Steve Brule

Research Committee
Co-Chairs: David Shackleton and Paul Sandor
Associates: Malcolm Johnston, Silvia Medrano, Walid Raine, Kiran Thomas, Max Von Holtzendorff, Haris Chaudry, Veronica Kay

Public Policy and Advocacy Committee
Chair: Robert Samery
Associates: Kevin Spykerman, Edward Sullivan, Rehan Khalil, Grant Dingwall

Technical Committee
Chair: Mark Austerberry
Associates: Iain Dwyer, Jaimy Warner, Nick Kovats

Programming and Events Committee
Chair: Malcolm Johnston

Web Development
Chair: Darhana Wijegunarathna

Volunteers and Committee Meeting Schedule

Volunteers and Committees meet the second Thursday of each month at 6:00 PM ET

Please contact us for meeting locations as they vary.


Biographies of Key Leaders


MichaelCavanaugh  Michael Cavanaugh Michael Cavanaugh is a community arts organizer in Toronto, Ontario. He has a degree from the University of Manitoba and has extensive professional experience in marketing, design and communications. Michael is the father of two daughters and is interested in establishing equality in Canadian family courts.



AdamAdam McPhee is a a Ryerson University graduate from the school of Social Work.  Since graduating, his work has focused primarily with people living with HIV/AIDS, addictions, homelessness, and within the large LGBT community of Toronto.  His interests lie in gender and social issues.  He has recently begun blogging at http://eyeofwoden.wordpress.com/



iaindwyerIain Dwyer




Edward Sullivan is a McMaster University Software Engineering and Management student with additional interests in languages and sociology. Since he can remember he’s taken an interest in social issues, with a focus on gender equity. For the last several years he’s been active in debate and advocacy regarding men’s issues, and today his primary projects are his work with CAFE and his own site dedicated towards raising consciousness of these issues.


Cropped me-engagementIn her role at CAFE and the CCMF, Denise provides communications issues leadership and management on national Canadian men’s issues matters. She holds an Honours Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from the University of Toronto and a post-graduate certificate in Public Relations and Corporate Communications from Seneca College. She has worked for the Government of Ontario, CTV, CAMH, Stantec, World Animal Protection, and also extensively in the corporate finance sector. She is committed to volunteerism and developing improved professional standards particularly on communicating nascent controversial issues. Her team of dedicated volunteers meet weekly to develop social media content to strengthen men’s issues awareness across Canada. Outside of CAFE, Denise works as a professional photographer and producer for The Star Spot, a popular astoronomy radio show based in Toronto.